Giovanni Gabrieli - Maria Virgo from 'Sacrae Symphoniae', Book 1, for Clarinet Choir, arranged by Matt Johnston. Giovanni Gabrieli was an Italian composer and organist of the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods. He was born in Venice, where he trained as a musician and composer, initially studying with his uncle, Andrea Gabrieli, who was a prominent musician and composer in the city. Gabrieli eventually succeeded his uncle as the organist and composer at St. Mark's Basilica in Venice, where he worked for most of his career.

Gabrieli's "Sacrae Symphoniae" is a collection of sacred instrumental music that was published in Venice in 1597 which includes canzonas, sonatas, and motets, all of which were composed for the unique acoustics of St. Mark's Basilica in Venice. The "Sacrae Symphoniae" is an important work in the development of instrumental music, as it represents a shift away from vocal music and towards the use of instruments in sacred music. The collection features a range of different instrumental combinations, including brass, strings, and organ, and often employs multiple choirs or groups of instruments to create a rich, complex sound.


  • Clarinet 1 (or E-flat Clarinet)
  • Clarinet 2/3/4/5
  • Alto Clarinet 1/2 (or Basset Horn 1/2, Bass Clarinet 3/4)
  • Bass Clarinet 1/2
  • Contrabass Clarinet (Contralto Clarinet/String Bass)