Ferenc Farkas wrote about the origin of the “Passacaglia”: “In 1931, while I was still a student by Ottorino Respighi in Rome, I began to compose a Partita in 4 movements for orchestra, whose third movement should be a Passacaglia. From this work, I only finished the Passacaglia and the Scherzo. In 1968, I took over the Passacaglia and transcribed it for organ without any modification, except the last 6 bars, I partially changed. In the shape of an arch, the work is based on a theme that is repeated thirteen times. Piano initially it evolves in crescendo to a climax in the 33rd bar, then falls gradually to a gently end.“ We do not know when and for whom Ferenc Farkas wrote this version for 6 clarinets of the “Passacaglia”.

Part of the Eddy Vanoosthuyse clarinet collection.


  • E-flat Clarinet
  • Clarinet 1
  • Clarinet 2
  • Alto Clarinet/Basset Horn/Clarinet 3
  • Bass Clarinet
  • Contrabass Clarinet/Contralto Clarinet