Carles M. Eroles - Nocturno III for Mezzo-Soprano, Percussion, Piano, Violin and Cello.

"A day, that I was looking some poetry books in a bookstore, I found the poem Nocturno III from the Colombian poet Jose Asuncion Silva (1885-1896). This poem greatly impressed me and I was sure that some day I will put it in music. Only one month after, I was writing the score for the Sphera Ensemble for a concert at the Centre de Cultura Contemporanea from Barcelona into the Fifth Avuimusica Season. The poem is enormously tragic, romantic and very deep. We can see in it two parts, so the score follows this structure. Pianissimo, enigmatic bass drum strokes start the first part (the percussion always draw a dramatic sense of the text), followed by a sweet and evocative mezzo-soprano voice. This is followed by a violin playing in a medium and a high register, and then appears the violoncello, playing in these same registers."


  • Mezzo-Soprano
  • Percussion
  • Piano
  • Violin
  • Cello