The Furiant is the third movement of Antonin Dvorak's Symphony No. 6, composed in 1880 and premiered in 1881. A Czech national dance, the Furiant is a fast dance in triple meter, often incorporating hemiolas. This gives the effect that the dance is appears to be alternating between phrases in 2/4 time and 3/4 time. In the orchestral version, the piccolo solo in trio section is the only time the piccolo is played during the entire symphony (for a total of 8 measures!), however, in this arrangement by Shaul Ben-Meir, it has been incorporated more fully into the texture throughout.


  • Piccolo (doubles on C Flute)
  • 6 C Flutes
  • 2 Alto Flutes
  • Bass Flute
  • Contrabass Flute