The Symphony No. 4 of Johannes Brahms was his final symphony, composed in 1884. The Allegro non troppo (1st movement), arranged here for flute choir, is in standard sonata form (although there is no repeat of the opening section). The first two notes consist of a descending third, and it is this interval from which he develops the rest of the movement. The flute orchestra version is arranged for six C flute parts, two alto flutes, two bass flutes and a contrabass flute. Increasing the number of players in each section will give added depth to the full and rich sound of this arrangement..


  • 6 C Flutes
  • 2 Alto Flutes
  • 2 Bass Flutes
  • Contrabass Flute