Antonio Vivaldi (c. 1678—1741) remains one of the most-loved and oft-performed of the baroque composers. In 1703, he was appointed to the position of music master at the Ospedale della Pieta in Venice, a home for orphaned girls. It was for this famous orchestra of young girls that he produced his more than 400 concertos, of which over 200 are for the violin. This Concerto in C Major is one of only three concertos that Vivaldi wrote for the instrument called “flautino.” It is in three movements: AllegroLargo, and Allegro molto.


  • Solo Piccolo
  • 5 C Flutes
  • Alto Flute
  • Bass Flute
  • Contrabass/Contralto Flute (optional)