Little is known about the Suite in A Minor. It may date from the first decade of the 18th century, but wasn’t even published until 1936, when a general re-discovery of Telemann’s music eventually led to huge popularity for this concerto-suite for flute. It was probably written in response to a patron’s interest in music from Paris. Even though the work is opened by a French style Ouverture that sets up our expectations for a suite of standard dances like the courante, sarabande, or gigue, Telemann uses a cosmopolitan blend of French (Les Plaisirs, Rejouissance and the Menuets), Breton (Passepieds), Italian (Air à l’Italien) and Polish (Polonaise) music.

Unique to this new 2016 edition, in some sections of movements where the flute typically is tacet (Les Plasirs, Minuet I and Passepied I), there are Violin I cues written in the solo flute part, in case the flute wants to play along. Also, a new Continuo part has been written by Victoria Jicha, to further enhance the performance experience. Full Score and Parts are included.


  • Solo Flute
  • Violin 1 (2 copies included)
  • Violin 2 (2 copies included)
  • Viola (2 copies included)
  • Cello/Bass (2 copies included)
  • Continuo (optional)