One of the most famous melodies by Maurice Ravel, arranged for Double Wind Quintet with String Bass (or Contrabassoon) by Mark A. Popkin. This piece was originally composed for piano in 1899, while Ravel was studying at the Paris Conservatory under Gabriel Faure. He later created an orchestration in 1910.


  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes
  • 2 Clarinets
  • 2 Horns (F)
  • 2 Bassoons
  • String Bass (Contrabassoon, ad lib.)