John La Montaine's Fuguing Set for Piano Solo consists of seven pieces: PrologueFugue in GPastoraleFugue in DCadenzaFugue in C, and Epilogue. It was originally composed in 1965.

Jocelyn Mackey (Pan Pipes, music critic): "Amazing contrapuntal skill. Fuguing Set explores three different fugal techniques: the traditional tonic-dominant relationship of subject and answer, modal treatment of the subject and its inversions (all modes, including the Locrian appear), and chromatic procedures. A Prologue and Epilogue frame the set, while a Pastorale and Cadenza appear between the fugues. These pieces appealed immediately to this reviewer, who feels that many people who may not care for contemporary music will find them more than satisfying."