SKU: CC231

The Enigma Variations (Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36) of Edward Elgar is an orchestral work consisting of an original theme with fourteen variations was composed in between 1898 and 1899. The work is dedicated to "my friends pictured within," with each variation being a musical sketch of one of his circle of close acquaintances. The most famous of all the movements, Variation IX (Nimrod), is dedicated to August Jaeger, a close personal friend of Elgar. Jaeger worked for the London music publishing house, Novello, and was a highly trusted musical adviser to Elgar. 


  • 6 Clarinets (also E-flat Clarinet for Clarinet 1)
  • Alto Clarinet (Basset Horn/Clarinet 7)
  • Bass Clarinet (Contrabass/Contralto/String Bass)
  • Timpani (optional)