SKU: CC221

Allegretto; Andante moderato; Allegretto

Though a professional cellist, Franz Danzi's lasting legacy in the classical music world is the large number of wind quintets he composed during his lifetime. Among his other compositions is this charming piece for solo clarinet, bassoon and chamber orchestra, the Concerto Concertante (Op. 47/P. 227). It is often referred to simply as a "Concerto" or "Concertino", however the title "Concerto Concertante" is taken from the cover of the source material, originally published in 1818 by Musikverlag N. Simrock. While piecing back together an edition of the original version, Matt Johnston created a version of the piece for solo clarinet, bassoon and clarinet choir, dedicated to Peter Geldrich and Shannon Lowe. 


  • Solo Clarinet
  • Solo Bassoon
  • E-flat Clarinet
  • 4 Clarinets
  • Alto Clarinet (Basset Horn/Clarinet 5)
  • Bass Clarinet
  • Contrabass Clarinet (Contralto Clarinet/String Bass)