SKU: FC522

The Symphony No. 5 of Ludwig van Beethoven was first performed in Vienna in 1808 with Beethoven conducting. Looking at Beethoven’s life and relationships, we can see elements in this third movement (Scherzo) of yearning, pain, loss and triumph. This movement also uses the short-short-short-long motive of the famous first movement. This Scherzo is a fun, fast piece where the low flutes can shine.


  • 6 C Flutes (Flutes 1 & 2 double on Piccolo)
  • Alto Flute
  • Bass Flute (or Cello)
  • Contrabass Flute (optional)