Nine English Madrigals arranged and edited by Jonathan G. Bayley for Flute Trio. Three C flutes can perform these works or two C flutes with an alto flute performing the third flute part. These works can also be performed with more than three flutes (voices), a practice that was common during Tudor times. The composers of these Madrigals are Thomas Weelkes, John Wilbye and Thomas Morley and in the creation of this volume, original editions held by the British Library were consulted.

Selections include:

  • Come, come let's begin (Weelkes)
  • Jockey thine hornpipe's dull (Weelkes)
  • Ah, cruel Amarillis (Wilbye)
  • Say, sweetheart, will you love me? (Weelkes)
  • Ah me, can every rumour (Wilbye)
  • Some men desire spouses (Weelkes)
  • Come sirrah Jack, hoe (Weelkes)
  • To-morrow is the marriage day (Weelkes)
  • This love is but a wanton fit (Morley)


  • 3 C Flutes (or Alto Flute as a substitute for Flute 3)