Hans Aerts is a Belgian contemporary composer and clarinettist. He wrote many works for various chamber music ensembles as well as music for piano, choir and a concertino da camera for woodwinds. His style can be described as a continuation of the late romantic style. His music is almost always tonal. Fantasia Elegiaco was dedicated to the Piet Jeegers Clarinet Choir, and was composed in 1994. Hans Aerts uses his own harmonic language in order to obtain a maximum expression.


  • E-flat Clarinet
  • 3 B-Flat Clarinets (divisi)
  • Alto Clarinet/Basset Horn
  • Bass Clarinet 
  • Contralto Clarinet/Contrabass Clarinet