SKU: CM186

Due to copyright reasons, not available for purchase:

  • in the EU/Japan/Korea (and other 70+ year countries) until January 1, 2045.
  • in Canada/China (and other 50+ countries) until January 1, 2025.

Darius Milhaud composed the suite entitled 'Saudades do Brasil' in 1920 following a visit to Brazil in 1917-18. Originally for piano, each of the twelve movements is named after a neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro. He orchestrated the suite the following year at which point he added a short overture. The seventh movement, Corcovado, has been arranged here for Flute, Violin, and Cello by renowned violinist and pedagogue, Warren van Bronkhorst. Nowadays, Corcovado is most well-known as the mountain to the west of Rio de Janeiro on which the world-famous "Christ the Redeemer" statue stands. Although the statue was not constructed until the decade after Milhaud composed his suite, the area was a popular tourist attraction thanks to a rack railway up to the peak which was opened in 1884.


  • Flute
  • Violin
  • Cello