SKU: CC339

The Rakoczy March comes from the dramatic legend (légende dramatique) 'The Damnation of Faust,' composed by Hector Berlioz, arranged here for clarinet choir by Matt Johnston. The melody dates back to the 17th century and was eventually named after nobleman Francis II Rákóczi, the leader of an unsuccesful insurrection against the Habsburgs from 1703-1711. A visit to Hungary by Berlioz in 1846 led him to arrange the melody for orchestra and it has become one of his most well-known and oft-performed works.


  • Eb Clarinet
  • 6 Clarinets
  • Alto Clarinet/Basset Horn/Clarinet 7
  • Bass Clarinet
  • Contrabass Clarinet/Contralto Clarinet/String Bass

Percussion (optional):

  • Timpani
  • Bass Drum/Cymbals
  • Snare Drum/Triangle