SKU: FB121

Mnicakmun for Solo Flute and Wind Ensemble by William Linthicum-Blackhorse. Mnicakmun is a composition for solo flute and wind ensemble in three sections (Mnicásniyanyanla, Mnicáluza, Mióhuta).

From the composer:

'Mnicakmun, or 'Sounds of Water,' began as a project for my composition studio class at Texas Tech University. The first movement was written with the total absence of classical triadic harmony. As I continued to write the piece, I began to break from the strict rules that I set for myself and developed what I believe is a beautiful representation of the different emotions a person experiences in life, using water as the imagery.

The title was a last minute realization that I had written the piece with the Lakota Sioux native flute in mind, so I found it suiting to name the piece and its movements in the Lakota language. The word Mnicakmun is both the description and terminology for the sound that water makes when moving over a rocky surface.'


  • Solo Flute
  • Flute 1 (and Piccolo)
  • Flute 2
  • Oboe 1
  • Oboe 2
  • English Horn
  • (Bb) Clarinet
  • (A) Clarinet
  • Bass Clarinet
  • (Bb) Trumpet 1
  • (Bb) Trumpet 2
  • (F) Horn 1
  • (F) Horn 2
  • (F) Horn 3
  • Tuba
  • Mnicega Tanka
  • Percussion 1: Glockenspiel, Crotales, Xylophone
  • Percussion 2: Xylophone, Windchimes, Vibraphone, Triangle, Crotales
  • Percussion 3: Marimba
  • Percussion 4: Suspended Cymbal, Gong, Crash Cymbals, Mark Tree, Xylophone, Crotales, Glockenspiel
  • Percussion 5: Bass Drum, Timpani, Thunder Sheet (opt.), Ocean Drum, Windchimes
  • Piano
  • Harp
  • Double Bass