SKU: SC107

A perennial favorite in opera houses since its premiere in 1821, Carl Maria von Weber's Der Freischütz ("The Free-Shooter") was written in collaboration with librettist Johann Friedrich Kind. A landmark in German Romantic opera, this tuneful work combines elements of German singspiel with characteristics drawn from French opera to create a drama vividly realized in Weber's colorful and inventive score. This Suite endeavors to convey the flavor of Weber's opera through four contrasting movements (Lied; Cavatine; Volkslied; Jagerchor). 


  • Sopranino Saxophone
  • Soprano Saxophone
  • 3 Alto Saxophones
  • 2 Tenor Saxophones
  • 2 Baritone Saxophones
  • Bass Saxophone
  • Contrabass Saxophone (optional)