The Sylvan Suite was written for composer John Palmer's wife, Anne, for her flute ensemble. Although most of John's creative work has been for the brass family, his approach for this suite found him thinking about the substance, wood, hence the piece's title. He urges the performer to invoke thoughts of a forest or to conjure up an image of a glade of trees and to think about what might be happening somewhere within that world. The suite consists of three movements: Allegro, Rubato - Adagio - Moderato, and Allegro vivace.


  • Piccolo
  • 4 C Flutes
  • Alto Flute
  • Bass Flute
  • Contrabass Flute/Contralto Flute (optional)