Jacobo Durán-Loriga - Bennu for Orchestra. Bennu is the Egyptian God whose singing gave birth to Time. It had the shape of a birth and today is known as the Phoenix. This symphonic poem is a new meditation of Duran-Loriga about the musical time. It is scored in families and it alternates parts with superimposition of dense chords with dense awakenings of birds. Bennu is an commission of the Orquesta Nacional de España for the 27th Music Festival of Alicante.


  • Piccolo
  • 2 Flutes (Flute 2 doubles on Piccolo)
  • 2 Oboes
  • English Horn
  • 2 Clarinets (in B-flat)
  • Bass Clarinet
  • 2 Bassoons
  • Contrabassoon
  • 4 Horns (in F)
  • Trumpet I (in D)
  • Trumpet 2 (in B-flat)
  • 2 Trombones
  • Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I: Glockenspiel, Xylophone
  • Percussion II: Vibraphone, Snare Drum, Tam-tam
  • Percussion III: Marimba
  • Piano
  • Violin I
  • Violin II
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Double Bass